Barnes-Jewish Hospital honors Kollef, Rubin with Lifetime Achievement Award

Marin Kollef, MD, and Brian Rubin, MD, honored by medical staff for longtime service to hospital, university and community (Reprinted from the May 31, 2022 issue of Physician Connect.) Marin Kollef, MD, FACP, FCCP and Brian Rubin, MD, FACS, received the Barnes-Jewish Medical Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the Association’s semi-annual general meeting May 12 […]

De Fer receives Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award from the American College of Physicians; De Fer and Fraser awarded Masterships

Thomas M. De Fer, MD, FACP, Chief, Division of General Medicine, was awarded the 2021-2022 Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award by the American College of Physicians (ACP) during the annual ACP meeting in April. The award is bestowed upon a Fellow or Master of the College who has demonstrated the qualities of a great […]

Andrej Spec, MD, MSCI, named interim Co-Editor-in-Chief of Open Forum Infectious Diseases

The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) has appointed Andrej Spec, MD, MSCI, as a interim co-editor-in-chief of Open Forum Infectious Diseases (OFID), an IDSA journal publication. Spec previously served as OFID’s associate deputy editor for transfers. More details regarding OFID’s new appointments are available on their website.

Washington University School of Medicine chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society announces class of 2021

The Alpha Omega Alpha Executive and Selection committees announce the new faculty, alumni and house officers to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Class of 2021. AΩA is the honor medical society recognizing, advocating for, and inspiring physicians in the care of patients and promotion of health. Members may be elected throughout their career […]

Virtual celebration held for the inaugural Eduardo and Judith Slatopolsky Professorship of Medicine in Nephrology recognizing Jeffrey Miner, PhD

On Friday, April 2nd, a virtual celebration was convened via Zoom to recognize Jeffrey Miner, PhD as the inaugural Eduardo and Judith Slatopolsky Endowed Professor of Medicine in Nephrology. Miner also serves as Director of Basic Research for the Division. The professorship honors Eduardo Slatopolsky, MD, Professor Emeritus, Division of Nephrology, and his wife, Judith, […]

AAAS names 7 Washington University faculty as 2020 fellows (Links to an external site)

Seven faculty members at Washington University in St. Louis are among 489 new fellows selected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society. John Baugh, Aaron DiAntonio,MD, PhD, David H. Gutmann, MD, PhD, Barbara Kunkel, Douglas L. Mann, MD,; Paul H. Taghert; and Lan Yang will receive the highest honor awarded by AAAS in recognition […]

Milan J. Anadkat, MD: Appointed as Co-Director of the Office of Faculty Development for the Department of Medicine

Dear colleagues, It is my pleasure to announce that Milan J. Anadkat, MD, Professor of Medicine, Division of Dermatology at Washington University School of Medicine has been appointed as Co-Director of the Office of Faculty Development for the Department of Medicine. Dr. Anadkat has outstanding background and training in faculty development and coaching that will […]

Nobel awarded to Charles Rice for hepatitis C discoveries at Washington University School of Medicine (Links to an external site)

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded Monday, Oct. 5, to three scientists for groundbreaking research that led to the discovery of the hepatitis C virus, an insidious and deadly blood-borne virus. One of those scientists – virologist Charles M. Rice, PhD – conducted his seminal work while on the faculty of […]

Lisa Zickuhr appointed Associate Clerkship Director for Internal Medicine

The Department of Medicine is very happy to welcome our new Associate Clerkship Director for Internal Medicine, Dr. Lisa Zickuhr. She will be assisting the current clerkship director Dr. Gerome Escota in providing professional, administrative, and educational leadership for third and fourth year students rotating in Medicine. Dr. Zickuhr is an Assistant Professor of Medicine […]

Siteman Cancer Center earns highest federal rating (Links to an external site)

Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has been recognized once again as a top U.S. cancer institution, based on a review of its research programs. This evaluation resulted in a nearly perfect score, earning Siteman the highest possible rating — exceptional — by the National Cancer Institute (NCI), part of the […]

New COVID-19 Risk Assessment Tool and Registry

Lead by Washington University, researchers in the field of critical care outcomes have collaborated to set up an open-access website that provides an outcome risk assessment calculator for severe COVID-19 patients getting various treatments. Read more and download flyer

Department of Medicine Clinic Director Adapts FEMA Guidelines in Light of COVID-19

Just six weeks on the job, Jennifer Schmidt, MD, medical director at the Washington University Complete Care Clinic, found herself preparing to cope with the demands of COVID-19. As a trained clinician, she turned to guidelines, and has adapted the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Incident Command System to manage the clinic’s operations during this fast-changing […]

Walter named Edward P. Evans Endowed Professor (Links to an external site)

Matthew J. Walter, MD, has been named the inaugural Edward P. Evans Endowed Professor of Myelodysplastic Syndromes at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. These syndromes make up a group of rare blood disorders that prevents the body from making sufficient healthy blood cells. Walter, an international leader in the study and treatment […]

Medical students celebrate their teachers, mentors (Links to an external site)

Washington University School of Medicine students recently honored faculty and residents with Distinguished Service Teaching Awards for the 2018-19 academic year. The awards, which were first given in 1991, reflect the students’ appreciation for dedication, patience and skill in training future physicians. Students completing their first, second and third year of studies select the course […]

Dominique Cosco, MD – Medicine Residency Program Director

Dear colleagues, I am pleased to announce that Dr. Dominique Cosco has agreed to accept the role of Program Director for the Internal Medicine Residency Program at Washington University School of Medicine/Barnes-Jewish Hospital. As you know, Dr. Cosco assumed the responsibility of Interim Program Director for the Internal Medicine Residency Program in March of this year. Since […]

Dr. Melvin Blanchard earns Missouri Laureate Award from ACP

Missouri Chapter of the ACP Laureate Award The Laureate Award honors ACP (American College of Physicians) Fellows and Masters who have demonstrated their commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research and service to their community, their Chapter and the College. Awardees are generally senior physicians and have been Fellows for at least 15 to 20 […]