News Announcements

Department of Medicine Physicians Receive Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award

Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award Ceremony 2022
2022 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Awards on November 28, 2022. Pictured from left to right: Norman Knowlton III, MD; Donald Hong, MD; Sam Lindner, MD; Aisling Doyle, MD; John Lynch, MD; Max Petersen, MD, PhD; Tinu Aluko, MD; John Cella. Not pictured: Cassandra Fritz, MD, MPHS (Photo credit: Tim Parker Photography)

Six Department of Medicine physicians received the Knowlton Incentive for Excellence award during an award ceremony hosted by The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital on November 28, 2022. The awards recognize and support medical residents who exemplify a compassionate spirit combined with outstanding knowledge and skill.

This year’s recipients include:

Tinu Aluko, MD, Rheumatology

Aisling Doyle, MD, Pulmonary and Critical Care

Cassandra Fritz, MD, MPHS, Gastroenterology

Donald Hong, MD, Infectious Diseases

Sam Lindner, MD, Cardiovascular

Max Petersen, MD, PhD, Endocrinology

The awards program fund was established in 1984 by St. Louis real estate and business leader Charles J. Cella to honor his physician, Norman Knowlton Jr., MD, for his compassionate caregiving. Dr. Knowlton was a professor emeritus of clinical medicine in internal medicine at Washington University and Barnes-Jewish Hospital. Both men have since passed away.

The Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Fund at The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital is stewarded by a committee chaired by Dr. Norman Knowlton, III. John Cella, Charles J. Cella’s son, serves on the committee as well. In the past 35 years, more than 200 awards have been given to fellows who have completed internal medicine residency programs, embody the “Knowlton spirit” of care, and are likely to practice in the St. Louis area.