Department of Medicine Faculty Honored at Academy of Educators Annual Education Day

Mary Klingensmith, MD (left), Founding Director of the Academy of Educators with Abby Spencer, MD, MS, FACP, current Director, Academy of Educators.

Sponsored by the Academy of Educators, the School of Medicine’s Education Day was held on Tuesday, October 5, 2021. The event featured a variety of educational topics, a celebration of new inductees to the Academy of Educators and education-focused award recipients, followed by a networking session to wrap up the day. Education Day is held annually to highlight all aspects of the School of Medicine’s educational mission and recognize the educators making a difference in the lives of learners, mentees, and colleagues.

The day featured three workshops, all which included involvement from Department of Medicine faculty. The workshop topics were:

“How to Take Your Work and Turn it into Scholarship” with Emily Fondahn, MD

“Integrating Issues of Social Awareness into Curricula” with Dennis Chang, MD, Ilana Rosman, MD, Lisa Zickuhr, MD, Kaytlin Reedy-Rogier, MSW

“Lessons Learned from Curriculum Renewal Efforts at WUSM” with Michael DeVita, MD, Brian Edelson, MD, PhD, and Kari Allen, PhD

Education Day is held annually to celebrate educational excellence across the School of Medicine.

Recordings of the workshops are available via the Academy of Educators webpage here.

Several Department of Medicine faculty were inducted into the Academy and honored with educational awards. See all the inductees and awardees below.

Jennifer Monroy, MD, Kelli King Morris, MD and Abby Spencer, MD, MS, FACP were all inducted as new members of the Academy of Educators. A list of all new Academy members across the School of Medicine can be found here.

Daniel Goodenberger, MD was honored with the Academy of Educators Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ilana Rosman, MD and Lisa Zickuhr, MD received Academy of Educators Rising Star Awards.

The following faculty received the Academy of Educators Honor Roll Award:

  • Eva Aagaard
  • David Alpers
  • Osama Altayar
  • Alison  Antes
  • John Atkinson
  • Tom Bailey
  • Rakhee Bhayani
  • Libby Blaney
  • Dennis Chang
  • Steven Cheng
  • Thomas Ciesielski
  • Matt Ciorba
  • Dominique Cosco
  • Natalie  Cosgrove
  • Koushik Das
  • Nick Davidson
  • Tom De Fer
  • Amber Deptola
  • Kathryn Diemer
  • Carolyn Dufault
  • Dayna Early
  • Seth Eisen
  • Gerome Escota
  • Emily Fondahn
  • Nickole Forget
  • Brian Gage
  • Seth Goldberg
  • Daniel Goodenberger
  • Prakash Gyawali
  • Jan Hanson
  • Chyi Hsieh
  • Donna Jeffe
  • Patricia Kao
  • Andy Kates
  • Bob Kleiger
  • Vlad Kushnir
  • Gabe Lang
  • Steve Lawrence
  • Deborah Lenschow
  • Tingting Li
  • Scott McHenry
  • Amy McQueen
  • Rodney Newberry
  • Deepak Parakkal
  • Deborah Parks
  • Prabha  Ranganathan
  • Kaytlin Reedy-Rogier
  • Deborah Rubin
  • Justin Sadhu
  • Gregory Sayuk
  • Abby Spencer
  • Mark Thoelke
  • Sandeep Tripathy
  • Saiama  Waqar
  • Megan  Wren
  • Tim Yau
  • Wayne Yokoyama
  • Nichole Zehnder
  • Lisa Zickuhr