AWAM Updates News Achievements

2023 LEAD Award Recipients

Drs. Spencer (left) and Verma

Congratulations to the recipients of the inaugural AWAM Leaders in Empowerment and Development (LEAD) Award!

The awards were developed to recognize outstanding faculty members in the Department of Medicine who help advance women’s career development, in all ways, including being a sponsor, mentor, advocate, or formative example. This year’s award winners, Amanda K. Verma, MD (Assistant Professor of Medicine) and Abby Spencer, MD (Professor of Medicine), exemplify all of these qualities. The Department of Medicine greatly appreciates and values Dr. Verma’s and Spencer’s contributions toward advancing women’s career development!

(left to right) Drs. Bhayani, Fraser, Spencer, Verma, and Cresci