News Announcements

2023 Internal Medicine Scholars Symposium Winners

On behalf of the Mentors in Medicine Pathway, and Director Dr. Brian Gage and Associate Director Dr. Seth Eisen, we are pleased to announce the poster and oral presentation winners for this year’s Internal Medicine Scholars Symposium, recently held on May 17, 2023.

Poster Winners

1st Place
Jonah Graves, MD
“Telemedicine Critical Care and Outcomes Among Mechanically Ventilated Patients”
2nd Place
Alexa Loncharich, MD
“Venous Thromboembolism Risk in Patients with Newly Diagnosed Multiple Myeloma Treated with Carfilzomib or Bortezomib in Combination with Lenalidomide and Dexamethasone”
3rd Place
Kandice Roberts, MD
“A Culturally Tailored Diabetes Education Program for African Immigrants in the United States”

Oral Presentation Winners

1st Place
Sajal Tiwary
Sajal Tiwary, MD
“Recurrent Myocardial Injury Leads to Macrophage-Mediated Disease Tolerance in a Murine Model of Stress Induced Cardiomyopathy”
2nd Place
Cosette Champion
Cosette Champion, MD
“The Impact of Socioeconomic Status on outcomes in Peripartum Cardiomyopathy Among Black vs. White Women”